:: On Victoria Day… a little bit of this and that ::

Today is Victoria Day, which “is a federal Canadian statutory holiday celebrated on the last Monday on or before May 24, in honour of both Queen Victoria’s birthday and the current reigning Canadian sovereign’s official birthday. It is sometimes informally considered as marking the beginning of the summer season in Canada” (from Wikipedia, if you would like to know a bit more about it).

Since we went out to do stuff over the weekend, I decided to stay today and … well… relax and do a bit of this and that. The results:

1. A pretty small project: a fully lined zippered fabric cuff, to hold money and any other little thing I might need when I go out for lunch at work, and don’t want to carry my purse. I’ve used 2 of the same Amy Butler’s fabrics I had used to make this lunch bag.


2. Reading: I started Audrey Niffenegger’s second book (after her successful first novel, ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’) ‘Her Fearful Symmetry’ yesterday. Strange novel about siblings rivalry, love in its different forms, a ghost, London’s Highgate Cemetery, and a London flat inherited by a pair of 20-year-old twins, which will be theirs, only if they move in from the US -where they live with their parents-, live in there for at least 1 year, and -second condition- if their mum and dad do not set foot into it!

There’s a lot of history behind London’s Highgate Cemetery. Lots of notable gravesites, and apparently lots of people touring the place as if it was a historic site. In fact, the author of the book worked as a guide of the cemetery during her research for the book! It is interesting to know that some critics have also pointed out a potential verbal pun in the novel’s title, since in a standard British accent “symmetry” and “cemetery” are almost homophonous.

3. Knitting: what’s in my ‘jumping sheep’ project bag?

I’ve started another shrug about a week ago, this time using Malabrigo Silky Merino in colour ‘Raspberry’. Am I crazy about shrugs these days? Yes, I am!

I am using Laura Chau’s ‘Dew Point’ pattern for the body, which I’ve knitted a while ago… remember? But I’ve decided to do a different ribbing, probably a plain 2 knit, 2 purl, so it is a bit stretchy. I have just finished picking up the stitches all over it to start the ribbing, so it looks a bit cramped right now…

4. Cooking: one of the simplest and also one of my favourite dishes, ‘Tortilla de papas‘. Instead of cutting up whole potatoes, I usually make it using frozen hash brown fried potato cubes, which makes it an even quicker preparation. This time I’ve added some red onions and bella mushrooms. Yummy…

And there is going to be some TV watching tonight! It’s ‘House’ season finale -which is getting darker and darker, I’m afraid to say-, as well as ‘The Chicago Code’s’, the latter, one of our favourite series lately!

Have a great week you all!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    that zipper cuff looks pretty nifty! Love the idea!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

