Two FOs and a new Sewing book!

I finally finished a winter skirt, Simplicity 2226. I had been knitting, sewing and handspinning non-stop the last few weeks, but no FO (finished object) to show!

I chose to make version A, but without the belt loops (called carrier in the pattern).

I really liked the idea of trying an easy way to add 2 big front pockets, and did a French seam for the side seams, which look and feel like having a more professional finish. I also got to use my Janome blind hem foot for the first time, and liked how the hem turned out; not to mention that it was a lot faster to do the hemming, but because of the French side seams, I had a lot of bulky fabric to go over, so I left those 2 small areas, the left and right seams to hem by hand.

I used a heavy weight cotton fabric I got at Fabricland Toronto, where I also got the Simplicity pattern.

The front and back of the skirt are gathered, and I found the fabric to be heavy to do this easily: it took me to stitch 3 lines of basting stitches to do it in case 1 thread broke -which happened when I was almost done with both the front and back gatherings!-, but I am satisfied with the results.

I am planning to make another skirt with this pattern, using a lighter fabric to wear in the Summer. I will also be going down in the size of the pattern, since I found that the size I chose, even though is the correct one for my measurements, it wastes a lot of fabric in the gatherings. I would prefer to have a bit less and make the skirt a bit tighter next time!

Take a look at a couple of shots we took of my new skirt:

Winter skirt

Winter skirt

Winter skirt

I’ve also finished a new set I made for my friend’s Y.’s birthday. This time, I made a zippered pouch with clear zipper end tabs -no more puckering there!-, a key fob and a tissue paper holder. I used some dupioni silk for the exterior and Amy Butler’s print cotton for the lining. She loved her gift and how the fabrics match!

Finally, and because I am more into learning to sew clothes -and loving it!-, I got a new book I had pre-ordered a few weeks ago, ‘Simple Modern Sewing: 8 Basic Patterns to Create 25 Favorite Garments‘ by Shufu To Seikatsu Sha. I am totally in love with the simplicity of the lines of Japanese sewing design and patterns, but had always found the patterns extremely difficult to read, and not just because they are written in Japanese! The lines of the different sizes in a pattern are sometimes most of the times overlapped and it is just difficult to re-trace the size you choose without feeling your eyes are breaking! The patterns contained in this book are simple enough to trace on your own tracing paper and even the paper used for them is very strong, not like the tissue-paper used in commercial patterns.

Like the name of the book indicates, with 8 basic patterns you can create a lot more variations and it can be used by beginners as well as by more advanced sewists, to create your own modified designs. And that is what I am planning to do: start with the basics and modify according to my own designs and ideas!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Love your skirt. I made a version of it and get comliments on it all the time.

    http://dollardressfriday.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/week-twenty-seven/


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

