Materials for my first sewing project

I am sick at home with pneumonia -it really sucks!- and after spending the first 2 days literally in bed with no energy for anything but breathing, now I am feeling a bit better so I started to knit, spin, and update my blog.

Our first project at The Sewing Studio will be a Drawstring Bag (followed by a zippered purse and then a skirt!) and these are the fabric, thread and cord I got at Fabricland for the small bag.

The fabric is not too fancy, as it will be my very first project, but I chose that print because I am planning to use it as one of my knitting bags, and I really liked that red.

Fabric for drawstring bag

Fabric, Güterman cotton thread, and cord for drawstring bag

Fabric, Güterman cotton thread, and cord for drawstring bag

Fabric, Güterman cotton thread, and cord for drawstring bag

I did order some 1/2 yard cuts of beautiful Amy Butler printed fabric from Mimi’s Etsy shop: http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=40007.

Amy Butler 6 half yards PINK BROWN Midwest Modern Collection

Amy Butler 6 half yards PINK BROWN Midwest Modern Collection

Amy Butler 3 half yards DAISY CHAIN Brown DECO ROSE

Amy Butler 3 half yards DAISY CHAIN Brown DECO ROSE

This lady from Alabama, USA, has an online boutique where she sells fabrics and her own handmade totes, purses, and other types of bags: http://www.mimiscustomtotes.com/

You should certainly check that out, they are gorgeous!!!

Leave a Reply

