Even if I tried really, really hard… I do not think I would ever like it!

I was swatching to find out how many stitches I was getting with the 2-ply of the Charcoal merino, and the results after knitting the swatch were far from what I had imagined, liked, or hoped for!

Remember this was the fibre:

Charcoal merino from Milana Buenos Aires

Charcoal merino from Milana Buenos Aires

And this was the single I spun:

Single of the charcoal merino

Single of the charcoal merino

Now… this is the result after doing a 2-ply of 2 of those singles:

2-ply of charcoal merino

2-ply of charcoal merino

Not SO ugly, huh? Wait to see the knitted swatch. Here it is:

2-ply swatch

2-ply swatch

Really… I’m not kidding you. it is all bumpy and more for felting or the trash can, than for a sweater.

Now, I also swatched the single, and there, the world stopped spinning around me, and I was able to breath normally again:

Swatch of the charcoal merino single

Swatch of the charcoal merino single

So this is it… I think I will try to unply the full jumbo bobbin I have with the 2-ply, to get 2 singles again, then finish off spinning all the fibre, give it a good wash in Eucalan, and rethink the project I will be knitting it into.

Moral of the story: it was a good way to learn that not all pretty singles will look great as a 2-ply if you screw up at plying!

Leave a Reply

