Now IT IS a finished object (FO)

I had knitted this Cable Bag a while ago, and now I’ve added a lining, so I can use it in the fall and winter. The yarn is yummy Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky Yarn – M240 in Prairie Goldenrod colourway, that I got at Lettuce Knit. I loved knitting it, as it was my first multi-cable project, and I LOVE bags, so it was like falling in love with the project twice.

For the lining, I’ve used a cotton fabric with a floral and musical theme, and I split the interior pocket stitching in the middle of it, so I have two pockets.

Cable bag with musical theme lining

Cable bag with musical theme lining

DSC04652

Cable bag with musical theme lining
Cable bag with musical theme lining
Cable bag with musical theme lining

I’ve made the handles following the instructions for the “Summer Bag and Purse” project on Jeannette Trotman’s book “Easy Knitted Accessories”, which involves knitting them lengthwise, then picking up the cast-on stitches while binding off. That way you get very flexible handles, that are not too stretchy.

DSC04658

Also, I’ve just discovered that the designer of the cable bag, Linda Cyr, has put a free pattern download on the Vogue Knitting website: http://www.vogueknitting.com/free_patterns/cabled_bag.aspx . I think you need to subscribe to that site to have access to the free patterns.

1 Response so far »


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

