Fibre Garden Sunday spin-in

I met a lovely group of spinners from the Niagara region today. John Valleau and Alan McLean, co-owners of Fibre Garden, a new fibre shop in Jordan, Ontario, invited spinners to their Sunday spin-ins, and I reserved my spot through their Ravelry group, Fibre Garden @ Ravelry.

I had a great time spinning and chatting with these lovely people. They provided coffee, tea, cookies and a great ambiance, that inspired us all.

John and Alan have a great selection of fibres. Some of them are hand-dyed by John -aka ‘THE DYEGUY™ hand-dyed yarns and fibres’-, and have beautiful colours and textures. The batts are a dream!

I got 2 bags of natural Shetland, some natural Jacob, a beautiful roving of Jacob in ‘Heirloom Tomato’ colourway, John’s creation -a joy of earthy colours, reds, oranges, and browns. I also got some Corriedale in my favourite ochre/dark yellow. The Jacob fibre -from ‘Jacob sheep’- will be a first for me, I’ve never spun it before. I will most likely be posting pictures of my fibre goodness soon.

There were 2 more Lendrums, one double treadle -like Pamina, my spinning wheel- and another single treadle, a Majacraft Little Gem, 2 Ashfords and a gorgeous and antique Scottish wheel that Jean was using to spin her beautiful hand-dyed fibre.

Here are some pictures I took while I was there:

John explaining a new spindler how to use a drop spindle

John explaining a new spindler how to use a drop spindle

John explaining a new spindler how to use a drop spindle

Miss Rusty is the official customer greeter at the shop

Leave a Reply

