Handspinning, knitting and sewing… all in one!

Hi there, a friend was asking me about a good way to mix different crafts skills in one item or garment, so today I am showing some pictures of the ‘Button-Up neck Warmer’ by Mavis Adam, published in Spin-off magazine, Summer 2009, that I finished a few months ago.

I did not make it on time for the contest that the magazine was running, to have the finished neck warmer published on a 2010 issue, but I am really happy with the results nevertheless.

I started with a beautiful dark pink superwash merino fibre that I got at The Black Lamb in Port Hope, Ontario. Then I spun the fibre and did a 2-ply to get gauge. I then knitted it mostly following the pattern on the magazine, but did not like how the wrong side looked very much, so I decided to sew a floral cotton print.

I have also added some fabric covered buttons, that I made using the same fabric. Here are some pictures of how the project developed:

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    youngwifey said,

    Beautiful…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

