Do you know where I can find Mrs. Bigfoot… I have a gift for her

I am making a pair of fabric shoes that can be used as slippers. My source of inspiration was the ‘Room Shoes’ Novita made a few weeks ago.

She followed this pattern, and I figured they would not be TOO difficult to make if I had a basic idea of how to make a basic pair of lined fabric slippers, so I used this other pattern from BurdaStyle.

I love Novita’s version, which has a slightly larger insole.

My first version of the shoes turned out to be too big for me. I used a solid 100% cotton in beige for the exterior, a floral print for the lining, button, and tab, and some felted fabric for the exterior sole.

I had measured the exterior and lining sole to be just a bit larger than my own foot, so I would have a bit of room for the seam allowance.

After I had sewn both the exterior fabric and the lining separately, it looked like the size was right, but interestingly enough, when I sewed both together, it ended up being too large, maybe a couple of numbers bigger than my shoe size. You would think that because of the seams they would be even a bit smaller!

I will be retouching the pattern I used half an inch or so smaller. Here are a few pics of the first shoe for Mrs. Bigfoot, if you can contact her…

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Joy said,

    Those are REALLY cute! Sorry that they turned out too big. Hopefully, your next attempt will work out to be a better fit.

  2. 2

    Kathleen said,

    I LOVE those! What pattern did you use?

    • 3

      mariainblog said,

      Hi Kathleen,

      My source of inspiration was the ‘Room Shoes’ Novita made a few weeks ago.

      She followed this pattern, but I figured they would not be TOO difficult to make if I had a basic idea of how to make a basic pair of lined fabric slippers, so I used this other pattern from BurdaStyle.

      I love Novita’s version, which has a slightly larger insole.

      Cheers!

  3. 4

    Alethia said,

    Wow! That is big,:). But, you know what, trial and error pays off. Yo know what you need to do next.
    I will try these myself!

  4. 5

    glenda said,

    got your blog from verypurpleperson page and all I can say, those are darn cute shoes! too bad it’s too big for you after those hardwork.. I am interested in THAT, if you haven’t already ditched it.. 🙂

    • 6

      mariainblog said,

      Hi Glenda,

      Thank you for your comment.

      What I’ve actually done was to reuse the fabric for the new pair. I really like those cotton fabrics, and Mrs. Bigfoot did not contact me at all…

      🙂

  5. 7

    Tora said,

    Haha, they do look a bit big on you.. But it seems like a good idea. Good luck on getting the sizing right!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

