If you are a sock knitter… I have a question for you

Do you suffer from ‘second sock syndrome’?

I have several WIP’s (works in progress) and 3 of them are socks.

1. The first pair of socks I learned to knit were the ‘Basic Ribbed Socks’ by Kate Atherley. I knitted the first one during a course I took with Kate, using 2.75mm dpn’s and a pretty Lana Grossa  sock yarn in Marmi colorway (Tan, Brown, Orange). I was all excited about learning new knitting techniques. And being able to knit socks, for a knitter anyway, how cool is that? I finished the first sock, started the second one -yes… I started it!- Here is proof:

2. Then this happened:

Original picture from designer Evelyn A. Clark

I -irremediably- fell in love with the ‘Waving Lace Socks’ by Evelyn A. Clark from ‘Favorite Socks’, Interweave Knits, Spring 2004, and I just had to start knitting them, never having tried lace on a sock before. I used Regia sock yarn in Nordic Color:

And this is the finished orphan sock:

Even the the Yarn harlot held my sock:

3. So… when I thought I was on track to have my first very cool pair of lace socks, these beauties caught my attention:

Original picture of 'Francie socks' from designer Rebekkah Kerner

Original picture of 'Francie socks' from designer Rebekkah Kerner

And this is my first ‘Francie’, about to start the toe and finish, that I am knitting with 2 circulars. I am using ‘On your toes’ 4-ply sock yarn, with aloe vera:

So… yeah… I know… I have no excuse. I just go crazy about trying new beautiful patterns and want to knit them all.

If only I could knit first socks that would match each other … so at least I would be able to wear them in pairs, even if they are orphans…

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    redfear said,

    pairs? what is that word, pairs ; )


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

