Archive for June 13, 2010

Fibre goodness… mmmhhhh… merino and silk

A few weeks ago I got some Ashford Merino/Silk in ‘Cinnamon’ colour, and I have just finished spinning the first 100 grams.

I absolutely love this fibre, so soft and smooth. Remember my ‘sugar candy‘, more of the same fibre in colour ‘Pomegranate’?

I am spinning it in thin singles, but I am not too sure of what I am going to be knitting with it, so I don’t know if I will be doing a 2-ply or a navajo plying to get a 3-ply. That will depend on the pattern I choose.

Possibilities:

1. Norwegian designer Tora Froseth’s ‘Roots’, which I got a few weeks ago. I love her very clever use of short rows for the neckwarmer and the mittens to look like roots of trees… lovely. By the way, I love her work! Check out her updated shop here, s’il vous plaît!

2. Another project I would like to start is Torontonian designer Kate Atherley’s lovely ‘Shirakaba Cardigan‘. She named it that way because she used yarn ‘Noro Shirakaba’ for the first time and loved it. This Noro yarn is cotton, silk and wool blend. I think my cardigan might also look pretty in my merino and silk.

3. I am participating in a fibre/handspun yarn swap with a group of Spanish speaking Ravelers, ‘Las Hilanderas’ (The Spinners) (Ravelry link). This is a very interesting group, where fibre lovers who speak Spanish, but otherwise live around the world, work with different types of fibres, not only spinning them, but also dyeing with natural dyes. I think sending yarn handspun using the Ashford fibre can be a pretty gift that a handspinner and knitter might enjoy.

4. … any other ideas?

Oh… and by the way, I have about 400 grams of this lovely fibre, so I will certainly be able to knit more than 1 item!

Look at those colours and the softness… oh… the softness!

Ashford Merino and Silk in 'Cinnamon'

Leave a comment »

One socks UFO down… two still remain

While watching Argentina playing with Nigeria at the Soccer World Cup 2010 yesterday, I also finished the second one of my Ribbed Socks.

I like the stretchiness of the yarn I used, Lana Grossa  sock yarn in Marmi colorway (Tan, Brown, Orange). And the bonus was that I still have half a skein to knit another pair of short socks. Just need to find a pattern that is also simple enough not to get in the way of the variegated color.

This was a long wait for the first orphan sock I had finished a long time ago! It’s good to see them together, they look and feel good!

Basic Ribbed Socks - pattern by Kate Atherley

Basic Ribbed Socks - pattern by Kate Atherley

Basic Ribbed Socks - pattern by Kate Atherley with Fabric Shoes

Leave a comment »